DFA Logo

This content from the
Department of Foreign Affairs
has moved to Ireland.ie/irish-aid. If you are not redirected in 5 seconds, click here.

Skip to main content

This content from the Department of Foreign Affairs has moved to Ireland.ie/irish-aid

Sustainable Development Goals and Targets

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals cover a wide range of areas, and address the many causes of poverty, injustice and damage to our planet.

The Goals are universally applicable – meaning they apply to both developed and developing countries, and are as relevant to Ireland as any other country.

They are the result of several years of inclusive consultations and negotiations between UN Member States, civil society and engaged citizens around the world. The final set of negotiations at the UN was co-facilitated by Ireland and Kenya.

This culminated in the agreement entitled:  Transforming Our World:  the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.   The agreement consists of the 17 goals and 169 targets;  an accompanying Declaration; a section on the means, financial and otherwise, by which the Goals will be achieved;  and a section on monitoring and reviewing progress.

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals are backed up by 169 targets – about 10 targets per Goal. These targets outline the specific actions needed if the Goal is to be achieved. You can see the text of each of the 17 Goals below, and each of the corresponding targets by clicking on the Goals.

Goal 1

Goal 2Goal 3

Goal 4

Goal 5

Goal 6

Goal 7

Goal 8

Goal 9

Goal 10

Goal 11

Goal 12

Goal 13

Goal 14

Goal 15

Goal 16

Goal 17